APRIL 1, 2018
South Carolina's Golf Cart Law
Golf carts must be permitted through the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles. A person operating a permitted golf cart must be at least 16 years of age and hold a valid driver’s license. The operator of a permitted golf cart being operated on a highway or street must have in their possession the registration certificate for the golf cart issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, proof of financial responsibility for the golf cart, and their driver’s license. A golf cart permit must be replaced with a new permit every five years, or at the time the permit holder changes their address.
A permitted golf cart may be operated within four miles of the address on the registration certificate and only on a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is 35 mph or less.
The same laws that prohibit the use and possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle apply to the operation of a golf cart. This includes passengers. Do not exceed the number of occupants for which the golf cart was designed. Do not carry children or animals on your lap while operating a golf cart.
Follow the same traffic laws that you would follow when operating a motor vehicle. Stay off sidewalks. Be aware at all times that golf cart occupants are extremely at risk when traveling in traffic. A golf cart offers no protection from collision. Remain alert and drive defensively!
The law does not apply to a golf cart used by a public safety agency in connection with the performance of its duties. Please be aware that this law does not apply to “low speed vehicles.” They are regulated by a separate state law.
Violation of the SC Golf Cart Laws now carry a $76.50 fine. Please be aware (and warn neighborhood violators) of these Golf Cart Laws.
Golf carts are not allowed on Highway 17, 27th Avenue South, Ocean Boulevard near Main St, and Sea Mountain Highway. However, golf carts may cross these roads.
For a complete copy of the state law regulating golf carts, please visit www.NMB.us and then look under “New City Laws” on the homepage. To access South Carolina golf cart permitting requirements online, visit www.scdmvonline.com. Click on “Vehicle Licenses” at the top of the homepage, then scroll down to “Golf Cart.” Once there, you can view the requirements and download a copy of the required form, GC-2 Golf Cart Registration.